You Can Count on Me Scholarship Purpose

The You Can Count on Me scholarship program is designed to recognize high school students who have a desire to pursue post-secondary education and/or training. During the 2019 – 2020 school year, ten students will be chosen to receive a $2,500 scholarship. Additionally, a donation of $250 will be made to the student’s school district in the name of the teacher he/she wishes to recognize. Recipients will be announced beginning late February, 2020.

The focus of this scholarship is to provide financial support for students who have demonstrated a strong work ethic and who wish to pursue opportunities to better themselves through college courses and/or post-secondary training programs. Emphasis will be placed on students who have demonstrated their work ethic through meaningful work experiences. Work experience is not limited to employment outside of the home. Students who demonstrate a strong work ethic by assuming significant support roles within the home or who have contributed a significant amount of time and effort within their communities are equally eligible.

The statement, You Can Count on Me serves as the overarching theme of this program. While academic success will be a consideration for these scholarships, it is not the primary consideration behind the selection process. This program seeks to reward and support students who have a “can do” attitude and who have demonstrated this through a combination of school-related activities, work experiences, and community involvement. Additional consideration will be given for applicants who demonstrate a significant financial need, specifically, those students who might otherwise miss out on post-secondary opportunities due to financial limitations.

Applicants’ personal narratives will weigh heavily in the selection process. Additionally, recommendations from teachers, employers, community members, clergy, and the like will be important factors for consideration.

Who Should Apply?

Any high school senior who is currently enrolled in a public or private school, and who resides in Montgomery, Warren, or Greene County, or who attends Miami Valley Career Technology Center or Greene County Career Center may apply. Additional criteria for eligibility include:

  • The applicant must have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or greater at the time of application submission
  • The applicant must have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or greater at the time of graduation
  • The applicant must graduate in the 2020 academic year
  • The applicant must be in good disciplinary standing with the school of enrollment at the time of graduation
  • The applicant must enroll in a post-secondary education or training program beginning no later than the fall of 2020. Examples of post-secondary education and training programs include, but are not limited to:
    • A community college
    • A four-year college
    • A trade or technical school
    • A program which culminates in the award of a State-recognized licensure

Students must remain in good ethical standing within their schools and communities. Scholarships may be denied or withdrawn should the recipient conduct himself/herself in a manner deemed unethical or illegal by the school district or community.

Application Process

Interested candidates will complete the online scholarship application form located on this website. This form requires three recommendations be included. Recommendations must be uploaded to the online form prior to submitting the application. Recommendations must be in an electronic format. For example, a word processing document, a .PDF file, an audio file, a video file, etc.

Applications must be submitted between September 1st and December 31st, 2019. Once submitted, the application will be reviewed for completion and provided to the scholarship committee. The committee will meet in January 2020 to review applications and identify scholarship recipients.

Ready to get started? Click Here to Apply

2017-18 Recipients

Anna Baugham
Dominion Academy of Dayton

Christina Clark
Kettering City Schools

Noah McGeorge
Huber Heights City Schools

Tyler Barker
Fairborn City Schools

Peyton Phillips
Miami Valley CTC

Sarah Wade
Xenia Legacy Christian

Paige Dunham
Alter High School

Cecilia Meadows
Chaminade Julienne

Katherine Kohnen
Chaminade Julienne

Brooke Darkow
Dayton Christian High School

2016-17 Recipients

Karina Brady
Dayton Christian High-School

Kayleigh Brown
Beavercreek High School

Devon Cook
Brookville High School

Kaitlin Dunn
Fairborn High School

Madison Fecher
Beavercreek High School

Adam Gallatin
Oakwood High School

Jayden Lee
Carlisle High School

Hana Midtlien
Bellbrook High School

Brian Petachi
Wayne High School

Andrew Rice
Beavercreek High School